Composition of Council

The Maluti-a-Phofung Local Municipality has 69 seats. There were 176,579 registered voters in the municipality for the 2011 local government elections. The highest voter turn-out was achieved in Ward 5 with 61.77 %. The lowest voter turn-out in the municipality was in Ward 34 with 37.64 %. The average voter turn-out achieved in the 2011 municipal elections was 52.76 %.

Following the 2011 local government elections, six political parties are represented in the Council. The African National Congress was returned as the majority party with 52 seats. The Dikwankwetla Party holds 10 seats, the Democratic Alliance holds 4 seats, the Congress of the People, the African Christian Democratic Party and the African People’s Convention hold one seat each in the Council.