

RESULTS OF THE MUNICIPAL BY-ELECTIONS HELD ON 7 DECEMBER 2011

08/12/2011

The Electoral Commission (IEC) said the African National Congress won 10 of the 15 municipal ward by-elections which took place on Wednesday, 7 December 2011. Of the five remaining seats, two went to the Democratic Alliance and one each to an independent candidate, the Dikwankwetla Party of South Africa and the Inkatha Freedom Party.

Voter turnout varied between 18.35% and 68.18% with an average of 33.68%.

Two wards in Mpumalanga were uncontested. Both new councillors represent the African National Congress. They are:

- Sphiwe Lynette Mdluli in Ward 15 in Albert Luthuli [Elukwatini/Carolina] Municipality MP301; and
- Siphamandla Fasties Mthombeni in Ward 22 in Albert Luthuli [Elukwatini/Carolina] Municipality MP301.

One by-election each took place in the Eastern Cape and the Free State. The new councillors are:

- Anele Nkunzi of the African National Congress in Ward 13 in Nyandeni [Libode] Municipality EC155, Eastern Cape; and
- Alex Mahlatsi of the Dikwankwetla Party of South Africa in Ward 19 in Maluti a Phofung [Qwa-Qwa] Municipality FS194, Free State. This ward was previously represented by the African National Congress.

Two by-elections took place in KwaZulu-Natal. The new councillors are:

- Khumbulani Alpheus Mazibuko of the African National Congress in Ward 1 in Okhahlamba [Bergville] Municipality KZN235; and
- Fikezweni Zeblon Nkwanyana of the Inkatha Freedom Party in Ward 9 in Mtubatuba [Mtubatuba] Municipality KZN275.

In Limpopo, only one by-election took place. Mahlodi Eunica Machethe of the African National Congress is the new councillor in Ward 11 in Greater Letaba [Duiwelskloof] Municipality – LIM332.

Eight by-elections were scheduled for Mpumalanga. Two of these were uncontested as mentioned earlier. In the remaining six wards where by-elections did take place, the new councillors are:

- Mduduzi Ezekiel Maduna of the African National Congress in Ward 2 in Albert Luthuli [Elukwatini/Carolina] Municipality – MP301;
- Bongani Ntuthuko Nkosinathi Ndlovu of the African National Congress in Ward 4 in Msukaligwa [Ermelo] Municipality – MP302;
- Dingiswayo Simon Nkosi of the African National Congress in Ward 10 in Msukaligwa [Ermelo] Municipality – MP302;
- Quintan Paul Benjamin Lawrence of the Democratic Alliance in Ward 10 in Thaba Chweu [Sabie] Municipality – MP321. This ward was previously represented by the African National Congress;



- Thabiso David Tsela of the African National Congress in Ward 5 in Mbombela [Nelspruit] Municipality MP322; and
- Mthimbula Levis Thete of the African National Congress in Ward 21 in Bushbuckridge [Bushbuckridge] Municipality MP325.

One by-election each took place in the Northern Cape and the Western Cape. The new councillors are:

- Danny Andries Jonas, an independent candidate in Ward 1 in Thembelihle [Hopetown] Municipality – NC076, Northern Cape. This ward was previously represented by the African National Congress; and
- Penelope Anne East of the Democratic Alliance in Ward 71 in City of Cape Town [Cape Town] Municipality – CPT, Western Cape.

The detailed results for each ward are available on the IEC website on www.elections.org.za.

ISSUED BY THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Centurion 8 December 2011

[Source: www.elections.org.za]