

# **MUNICIPAL BY-ELECTIONS SCHEDULED FOR 7 DECEMBER 2011**

## 30/11/2011

Municipal ward by-elections will take place in the Eastern Cape, Free State, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape and the Western Cape on Wednesday, 7 December 2011. These are the last by-elections scheduled for 2011.

A total of 15 wards will be contested. Voting will take place in 73 voting districts in the following wards:

# Eastern Cape:

• Ward 13 in Nyandeni [Libode] Municipality – EC155 with 3 943 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the death of the councillor.

## Free State:

• Ward 19 in Maluti a Phofung [Qwa-Qwa] Municipality – FS194 with 4 918 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the death of the councillor.

## KwaZulu-Natal:

- Ward 1 in Okhahlamba [Bergville] Municipality KZN235 with 3 585 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the death of the councillor;
- Ward 9 in Mtubatuba [Mtubatuba] Municipality KZN275 with 3 895 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the Inkatha Freedom Party and became vacant on the resignation of the councillor.

# Limpopo:

• Ward 11 in Greater Letaba [Duiwelskloof] Municipality – LIM332 with 3 676 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the resignation of the councillor.

# Mpumalanga:

- Ward 2 in Albert Luthuli [Elukwatini/Carolina] Municipality MP301 with 3 781 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the resignation of the councillor;
- Ward 15 in Albert Luthuli [Elukwatini/Carolina] Municipality MP301 with 2 055 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the resignation of the councillor:
- Ward 22 in Albert Luthuli [Elukwatini/Carolina] Municipality MP301 with 3 522 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the resignation of the councillor;
- Ward 4 in Msukaligwa [Ermelo] Municipality MP302 with 3 115 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the resignation of the councillor;
- Ward 10 in Msukaligwa [Ermelo] Municipality MP302 with 3 269 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the resignation of the councillor;



- Ward 10 in Thaba Chweu [Sabie] Municipality MP321 with 3 041 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the resignation of the councillor:
- Ward 5 in Mbombela [Nelspruit] Municipality MP322 with 6 675 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the resignation of the councillor;
- Ward 21 in Bushbuckridge [Bushbuckridge] Municipality MP325 with 6 124 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the resignation of the councillor.

# Northern Cape:

• Ward 1 in Thembelihle [Hopetown] Municipality – NC076 with 2 177 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant on the resignation of the councillor.

#### Western Cape:

• Ward 71 in City of Cape Town [Cape Town] Municipality – CPT with 16 602 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the Democratic Alliance and became vacant on the resignation of the councillor.

For more information on these by-elections including special votes, contact your local Municipal Electoral Officer during office hours. Contact details for Municipal Electoral Officers are available on the IEC website at www.elections.org.za under Contact Us.

ISSUED BY THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Centurion

30 November 2011

For media gueries: Please contact Kate Bapela on 082 600 6386

For media interviews: Please email requests to spokesperson@elections.org.za